Suburban vs. Giant Snow Drift

Snow drift wins.

DSC_0049

It’s really a shame that the snow plough had already been by before we got back to my truck in the morning. It was an impressive drift! A few hours earlier I shot through it no problem. It was a big drift, but soft and puffy. On the way home from pottery at 11:30pm the drift was even bigger. I paused for a few seconds, then taking my foot off the gas I thought, “I’m in a Suburban”. What I didn’t realize is that during that time the ripping wind had packed the drift into the kind of snow you build igloos out of. And I must admit that in the dark I underestimated the impressive size of the mound. Thankfully, I was within walking distance of home. Graeme and I both went back with shovels, but it didn’t take long to realize the futility of trying to shovel out a beached Suburban. In the morning it took the tow truck several attempts using a few different methods to finally get it out. I hope my kids can learn some lessons from my mistakes!

On the walk home that late, moonlit night Graeme quipped, “It’s quite impressive that you could beach a Suburban. It’s very [“Maiden Name”] of you.”

Now every trip to town I see my pile of snow that the plough truck couldn’t get to. It’s like a monument to my stupidity. I’m looking forward to spring. Or more snow to bring the plough back out.

Moral: Never run a snow bank unless you’ve tested the consistency. It can damage bumpers!

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Suburban vs. Giant Snow Drift

  1. Paisley says:

    oops!! hahah … we’ve all misjudged a snowbank or two I ‘m sure. ALthough it IS impressive to beach a suburban! : ) Sorry about the bumper!

Leave a Reply

