And it was fun

DSC_0055
The snow came…..

DSC_0067
….and it was fun….

DSC_0082
….and we made donuts. Of course.

Then it rained, the snow left….

DSC_0015
…. and we made gingerbread cookies.

DSC_0036
And watched some wild waves crashing against the lonely shore.

DSC_0062
It snowed some more…. and it was fun.

DSC_0060

DSC_0066

DSC_0076
And we were happy.

IMG_1423
And silly.

DSC_0010

DSC_0032
More rain. Time for some summer activities on the deck!

DSC_0041DSC_0040
Enjoying the sunshine in the house. It’s been a gray fall. We are familiar with crazy amounts of winter sun up here and the last couple of winters have just not delivered.

DSC_0050DSC_0055
Ahhh… that sun…. and those faces when they are smiling!

DSC_0006
Back to clouds…. and I’ve lost track…. maybe snow again.

And then sick girls. Very sick. A week of it. Miserableness. Whining. Nights that I don’t want to recount. Snot, coughs, and near suffocation. At least it sounded that way.

DSC_0014

And here she is – three years old! – spitting out her candles. Oh, our poor and gracious guests who ate the cake, knowing she was sick, with no complaint (only a couple requests for “edge pieces”!). We were in the middle of “Happy Birthday” when I realized my error – that I should have put her candles on her own piece. And she was already “blowing” them out before I had a chance to make any changes.

DSC_0010
Piano lessons are happening with much greater regularity, thanks to the fact that I have some great help with so much of the other stuff. It makes me happy to see these guys accelerating in their musical learning.

DSC_0020
Big bro. with the magic touch (or magic whistle) got both of his sick sisters to fall asleep.

DSC_0025
Later, Katie was feeling much more energetic (still snotty nosed), when she decided to “help” Noah with his crochet chain.

DSC_0030
Poor, poor girl.

DSC_0034
A little project.

The snow is pretty much gone again.  Grae and the two oldest got in a day of down hill skiing in good conditions and the same boys got in one session of cross country before the snow went.  We are complaining a little, I must admit, that it’s reminding us of a more southern winter.   On the bright side, it makes me feel  a little better about not having everything set up to make the skating rink yet.  If it was really cold and good for freezing the ice surface I’d be annoyed with myself.  However, we’re close.  A neighbour dropped off a water pump today.  The surface is levelled.  I just need boards or straw bales or something.  And then cold.  Here’s hope they all come together at the same time!

What other news?

  • The four boys recently played in a violin recital. So cute.  I might post some video sometime.
  • After weeks (ok, months) of no eggs some chickens have started laying again!  Yes, we are excited about this.  Can you imagine putting all that effort into insulating a nice shed for them, paying for the feed, sacrificing time you could have spent on other things, and wondering all the while if it would have been more profitable to eat your hens because they STILL WEREN’T LAYING?  So the fact that they have started laying again is very rewarding.  OK…. so far three of the nine have started up and we are very hopeful the rest will follow.
  • The girls are feeling much, much better.
  • Over the fall and winter I’ve been doing art lessons with my kids and a neighbour girl, every second Tuesday when she’s at her dad’s.  It’s been fun.  We’re going through “Drawing With Children” by Mona Brookes.
  • I was looking up an address for a Christmas card – our dentist in Southern Ontario.  I wanted to jokingly ask if he and his whole dental staff and their families were ready to move here yet.   We’ve never enjoyed going to the dentist so much as we did there.  I was shocked and saddened to discover that he was killed in a fatal car accident this past May.  So, so sad.
  • I have a bazillion things I’d like to “catch up” on with Mariet here, but as I become more and more aware of this tendency I’m working really hard at refraining myself, at focusing on the priorities – the golf balls, and becoming more of a “Mary” and less of a “Martha”.

Now it came to pass, as they went, that he entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house.

And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word.

But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me.

And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things:

But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.

Luke 10:38-42

  • Setting some new goals for the new circumstances has been clarifying.
  • The seed catalogues are already arriving.  Is this earlier than usual?
  • Required reading:  “Whatever Happened to Justice?” by Richard J. Maybury (and the rest of the series too).  The common law principles are helping me become a more just parent (I think), and sparking some ideas and insight into some things that I’ve never considered before.  In fact, I’ve even commented that I think some of my parenting techniques have been rather communist.  The bibliography is causing my wish list to grow by leaps and bounds. Sigh.
  • That’s all for tonight, folks.
  • Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas!
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

