Projects Complete

DSC_0007DSC_0006
As posted previously, we continued work on the doghouse on Wednesday. These are the photos to go along with that. Gabe, Ben, and Noah all did a little staining, but Gabe alone continued and was a real, big help. While he stained the sides I was able to complete the roof, which we then both stained.

DSC_0016
Here is the bird feeder that Zach built with one of its’ first guests.  He was thrilled today when a purple finch arrived.

Yesterday was a day of rest from all things dog-related.  We went to visit friends and had a lovely day with lovely people.  It was a Godsend.  Precisely the friendship, fellowship, and fun that I’ve been yearning for lately.

DSC_0022DSC_0023

Today was the first day that all the boys didn’t join me outside.  They worked on various tasks and games inside. Danica slept.  They didn’t bother me.  I didn’t bother them.  Without their help I was able to quickly finish up the interior of the house – insulating it with foam, cutting and nailing on some hardboard, and finishing it off with a bedding of straw.  I still need to put some hardboard in the “hallway” to protect the foam.  I ran short of foam for the roof (right). Otherwise, it’s done.  The roof will remain removable for easy cleaning and bedding changes.  I took a couple of shortcuts on the interior, overlapping some hardboard or accepting some small gaps.  Even still, I’m quite happy with the results.  It is a doghouse, after all, and it was nearing lunch.  Hungry kids + neglectful mother = crises.  I don’t think Jaska minds!

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

This entry was posted in Dogs, Family, Karelian Bear Dog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Projects Complete

  1. Joanna says:

    Question…I’m going to attempt to build the same house for Op, I’m having trouble trying to figure out how big to make it & how much lumber I need and I feel totally overwhelmed and frustrated by this. I know…pathetic that this overwhelms me, but I’m better at following plans that are pre-sized not sizing my own! lol. Thanks Sis.

  2. Joanna says:

    Well the “maximum” size he should reach is 36” at the shoulder. Right now his hips are at 33” & shoulders only at only 29-ish. So I am going to build it based on a dog that is 36” at the shoulder so roughly 40”-42” long. I figured 42” is easier since it 3.5 ft. I was thinking about it as I went to bed this morning. I have been thinking of it constantly…obsessing if you will…it was -14 this morning and I thought that is awfully cold for a houseless dog, even though he was in the house! Anyways…I was thinking of making it 48”x48”x96” (4x4x8) then making the sleeping area 5×4 & the entrance way 3×4 I think that would be good size for him….what do you think?

Leave a Reply

