Catching Up – Part 2

DSC_0005
Danica made a new friend last night.

DSC_0006
On his way with Daddy and two big brothers to haul garbage and see if there are any bears at the dump this morning.

DSC_0013
They were not disappointed. Zach took my camera and snapped some good shots.

And to make the day even more exciting…..
DSC_0002
….. Daddy found this blue-spotted salamander under the wood pile.

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

I’d like to say I’ll be blogging more faithfully, but I can’t make any such promises.  Most days I feel like a hamster on a wheel.  As a friend’s mother recently told me, though, “You just have to know when to step off the wheel.  You can always get back on.”  I’m trying….. trying to step off the wheel and enjoy the spectacular view, the waves and wind, the fresh, crisp, fall air, games with my kids, reading stories. I’m trying to “let go” of every nagging voice and really enjoy a (long) game of Settlers of Catan.  At the same time, I’m trying desperately to get some semblance of “a plan” in place for educational goals for the year, and for household routine.  Attempting to rationalize why I feel so disorganized I’m getting some consolation out of telling myself, “You have moved three times in the past four years.  And you have an infant. You’ve had a lot of company since you moved.”  A little self back-patting helps once in a while. Having said all that, I do feel like I’m on my way to order, to efficiency, to functionality.  I’ve got a lot of lists drawn up.  Lists always make me feel more in control.  And I’m getting the “spare room” turned into the “project room”, which will be a big help.  I’m running boot camp with the kids. You want me to play Settlers?  Help me out with these jobs. They get it.  They are helping.

Zach just had a birthday.  Double digits!  It’s hard to believe.  It happens too fast.  It’s amazing all the things I’ve noticed lately….. how often he’s offering to help, asking if I need help, how I can’t remember the last time I’ve had to tell him to keep his voice down (the rest of the kids – yes, Dani included – are another story), or to stop up-talking.  He’s growing up in so many ways.

I didn’t get the birthday gift I really wanted to give him ready on time. I’m aiming to have it ready for Christmas now, and then hopefully for each other child when they turn ten.  Sorry, can’t ruin the surprise.  More on that…. after Christmas.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Catching Up – Part 2

  1. Joanna says:

    Nice to see some new posts on the blog!! I hope Zachary got my birthday card in time!! I really planned on calling, but I am very bad at that and I thought of it a few times when I was busy & had my hands full, then when I would have been able to call it slipped my mind. I am a bad Auntie! But I love him & hope he had a wonderful Birthday…I’m very excited to see the surprise Bday/Xmas gift!!!!

  2. Pais says:

    Not only have you moved three times in four years, you’ve had two babies in that time, lived with (or occasionally without when he was on call/in Wpg) a neurosurgery resident/fellow, taught 4 kids their school work, and this summer alone you’ve had constant visitors, gone on two big trips up north, settled into a whole new house/city. Not to mention the daily, cooking three meals for 7 of you, cleaning, teaching, listening, organizing, hugging, comforting, settling disputes, hunting salamanders, buying groceries (like entire pigs and cows), going on adventures, keeping up with friends, sustaining a marriage. And on top of that you garden, have friends over for dinner, keep in email touch with a whole bunch of people. I am in constant awe of what you do. I think it’s nice that you are reminding yourself to let yourself off the treadmill sometimes (as best as you can … ) … and I just wanted to remind you that what you are doing is super human, and feeling a little overly busy once in awhile is, in my opinion, a pretty reasonable way to feel! Hugs to you from me!

  3. Lisa says:

    Paisley beat me to it, and I agree with everything she said. You are already accomplishing an awful lot, so don’t feel like you have to radically change everything or get organised all at once. Small steps are good too, and easier on the sanity, lol. Your kids are obviously happy and thriving, and that’s the main thing, so enjoy some time off that hamster wheel :-).

  4. Neal says:

    Nearly a week late, but…

    Happy 10th Birthday, Zach! I hope it was great.

  5. Angela says:

    Joanna, we got the card in plenty of time for his b-day. (And nobody thinks you’re a bad auntie!)

    Paisley and Lisa, thanks for your kind words of encouragement and support! I honestly wasn’t fishing for it, but let’s be honest…. it’s still nice to hear.

    Garnet…. ? Sorry to bore you.

    Thanks, Neal…. wishes have been passed on to Zach.

  6. Pais says:

    Glad to be an encouragement!
    And just so you know, I find your life far from yawn-worthy!

  7. birthday cards that are personlized are the best in my opinion, they really come from the bottom of the heart of the sender.`~

Leave a Reply

