Clap. Clap. Clap.

DSC_0022

Danica’s newest “trick” is clapping.  We say, “clap, clap, clap” and she claps.  Sometimes she even says, “ca, ca, ca, ca”.  She’s trying.  She is always making “t, t, t, sss, sss, tss, tss” kinds of sounds.  She whispers, “i-TIH-tih” and it sounds like she’s saying “I did it”.  A couple of times I’ve thought she was waving goodbye, but today it was definite.  Alex, Steve, and E were leaving the house and she was waving every time someone said “goodbye”.   She even sounded like she was trying to say “bye bye”.

DSC_0017DSC_0013

Snuggles with Noah (if you can call them “snuggles”), and snuggles with Uncle Neal, which you can call snuggles.  Uncle Adrian is here now too.

DSC_0004
Big afternoon naps in Mommy and Daddy’s bed….. the quietest bedroom in the house, with the sound of wind and waves drowning out everything else.   Mommy has been torturing her by keeping her up as long as possible in the morning, putting her down for a later nap, and forcing her to stay awake until bedtime.  One nap.  Earlier bedtime.  That is the goal.  Ask me how it’s going?  Well, she is sitting on my lap right now.  Some days it has worked, some days it has not….. we’re not far enough in to tell.  But it’s a lot of work keeping a baby awake who just wants to sleep!

DSC_0002DSC_0001
The giant bunk.

Graeme and I went on a 17km round trip bike a couple of evenings back (thanks to a visiting Grandma who stayed with the kids).  17km doesn’t sound long, but for someone as out of shape as I…. it was long.  Surprisingly, my muscles felt fine yesterday and today.  Anyway…. it was wonderful.

We had some fun swimming in the giant waves a couple of days ago.  I convinced Zach and Gabe to take turns going out with me.  It took both Graeme and I to get them in the water without injury (past the rocky shore that the waves were trying to bash us into).  I was happy they both tried it.  Zach got cold really fast, but Gabe swam with me for a while and really enjoyed it.  Before I took the boys in I had been swimming back to shore, contemplating the best exit, when a large wave “vomited me out of the lake”, as Graeme later put it.  I only had minor scrapes on my knee and foot.  Fun, fun, FUN lake.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Clap. Clap. Clap.

  1. rhondablogs says:

    oh my. that picture of baby sleeping on the bed is so sweet! i do miss having a baby around. 🙂

  2. Pais says:

    I love the pic of Neal and Dani! Wish I got to see Neal … : (
    Look at the picture again and notice their matching crazy blue eyes! Lovely shot! And hugs to Neal and Dani!

  3. Joanna says:

    Cute pictures!!! 🙂 Miss you guys!

  4. Neal says:

    Thanks Paisley. Sorry I missed you, too.

    Hey, Angie. Would you like the short video I took of everyone swimming? I can’t vouch for the quality, but I can try to e-mail it to you.

  5. Robyn says:

    I would love to curl up beside Danica on those nice white sheets with the breeze blowing in. Great posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

