A Whole-wheaty Tip

When the whole wheat to white flour ration got to high in my bread I was ending up with bread that got really crumbly after it was a day old.  I’ve started adding some Vital Wheat Gluten to my recipes and this seems to do the trick.  In fact, I’ve been adding it to other things, too.  Now I can make my biscuits 100% whole wheat and they don’t crumble to pieces when you spread jam on them.  One hundred percent pizza dough is just as fluffy as the half and half stuff I was making.  I’m going to try converting all kinds of recipes over to all whole wheat with the added gluten.

I’ve been finding Bob’s Red Mills Vital Wheat Gluten at Sobeye’s and Loblaws.  I also heard you can buy it at Bulk Barn, but I haven’t checked there yet.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Whole-wheaty Tip

  1. winken says:

    I’ve read about that stuff – where do you get it?

  2. Andrea says:

    I never even considered adding gluten. We add zuckerrubenkraut, which is like a thick maple syrup or a liquidy honey, just a spoonful for our 1.5 kilo breads.

    Like Winken, where did you get it, I would also be interested in where you came up with the idea to put gluten in to the bread?

  3. Andrea says:

    My mouth waters for bread in five! Thanks for sharing the link, I anticipate some experimenting and dabbling in the near future…

    • angie says:

      I’m planning their cinnamon swirl french toast this morning for a late breakfast when my hubby and eldest get home from fencing. I made the bread for it yesterday using the linked-to brioche recipe. Mmmmm…… it came out of the oven at about 10pm and I ate TWO big slices. Warning: there is not a speck of whole wheat flour in this recipe. But I wanted to start out with the original and then experiment with adding whole wheat and gluten until I got something comparable, but healthier. I’ll let you know how it goes if you like. I have some brioche dough left over and I was thinking of their caramel sticky buns. Hmmmm…….

  4. Robyn says:

    I’m so happy to read this. I’ve been thinking for a long time about adding gluten to my bread, but just haven’t tried it yet. As soon as I read this (well, on my next grocery run) I bought some. Now I just have to try it. I haven’t had problems w/ my whole wheat yeast bread, but I have had problems w/ biscuits and the like being crumbly. Have you tried it in muffins? I use the whole grain pastry flour from the Bulk Barn…and sometimes it makes really dry muffins. Although I know you don’t want TOO much gluten in muffins. Hmmm, guess I’ll start experimenting.
    And BTW, you made WHITE BREAD? GASP! 🙂 ha ha I’ve been wanting to buy brioche because I read an article about perfecting bread pudding and they claimed brioche makes the best! Maybe I’ll just make it… Cinnamon swirl, bread pudding, french toast…mmmm how I love carbs!

Leave a Reply

