1:53 AM

Danica was a little fussy last night.  The usual routine.  I was sitting on my chair, patting her back.  She was settling. Graeme was playing guitar.  Jaska was eating crumbs under the table. I think it was a little after 11:00.  I closed my eyes… just for a minute.  Never would I have imagined I could have slept so soundly on that chair.  I woke up staring across the room at the glowing green lights on the stove clock.  “1:53”?  I blinked. Once.  Twice.  Still 1:53. The house was silent.  And suddenly I was terribly upset.  I felt like a three year old. It was something so silly to feel so upset about, but I couldn’t help it.  I didn’t want to sleep on the chair until 1:53.  Well, I put Danica in bed, and perhaps this was my error – I brushed my teeth.  I was awake.  Wide awake.  Just slept two hours awake!  Which gave me more time to lie there thinking about how upset I was for sleeping in the chair.  On the other hand, had I not brushed my teeth, I think I was awake enough already to lie there thinking that I should have brushed my teeth, and how upset I was.  Ah well.  I’m laughing at myself about it today.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1:53 AM

  1. Robyn says:

    Oh the things we do when we’re sleep deprived! 🙂 I’m glad you’re laughing…and I’m glad you didn’t drop Danica. 🙂

  2. Angela says:

    No kidding… I’m glad I didn’t drop her too!

Leave a Reply

