Something to Try

Found online:

In private meditation or with someone helping you do guided visualization, go deep within and listen, asking your baby why s/he has not yet decided to go through the birth process. It is the baby who initiates labor. Unlimited answers are possible and might include: fear of the birth process (yours or the baby’s); aversion to one or more participants or location planned for the birth; or your feelings of lack of readiness for parenthood. (It may seem as if the answer is coming from your imagination, but your imagination is an important part of your mind.) Then listen for any possible solutions that may be offered.
-Donna Worden-Wonder
dcwww@yahoo.comonna

It’s true.  I’m just not ready for parenthood.  Or maybe the baby is afraid of Noah (Graeme pointed this out).  Hmmmm…… maybe castor oil isn’t such a bad option.  Or… just waiting.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Something to Try

  1. el burro says:

    I was so hoping for your sake that it would have happened in the 2 days that I was away from the internet….but no. Probably this week some time, though!

  2. el burro says:

    I saw that picture of you bowling….you are absolutely amazing! Baby #5, post due date, and bowling! Looking pretty fabulous, too. It’ll be a great one to show the baby when she grows up.

  3. Angie says:

    Thanks, P! I know it has to be soon now. I had a big contraction after I went to bed last night and I was so hopeful things were starting, but alas, here I am this morning still waiting. Reminding myself that those teasers are doing something too.

  4. grandma betty says:

    I vote for fear of Noah!!!!!!!!!!

  5. cousin sara says:

    did you go bowling in hopes of falling again and starting labour? lol …thinking about you and hoping it is happening (happened) as i write this.

  6. akentuckycreation says:

    Don’t mean to discourage you, but I carried my daughter for “10” months. I know, I did my own pregnancy test because I was a Lab Tech. Dr. said it was due to my longer than normal usual cycle. Hope you don’t go that long. They come when they are ready.

  7. Meagan says:

    Thinking labourious thoughts for you. Come on little miss, mommy’s even nicer on the outside!!

  8. Robyn says:

    Yep. I think your baby can sense your hesitation about caring for a newborn. You’re so inexperienced! Plus, since it knows a lot about how difficult the birth process can be, and how scary this outside world is, it is probably fearful.
    I wonder how we could teach it that there is nothing to fear and this is all natural….maybe if you use your imagination. 🙂

  9. Neal says:

    From Jon Davis’ comic strip “U.S. Acres”:

    Orson: “Come on, Sheldon? Don’t you want to hatch? It’s a beautiful world out there!”

    Sheldon: “You can’t fool me! I read the newspapers. I’m safer in here!”

    Maybe that’s what the little one’s thinking… 😉

    I hope she’s born soon, Angie. Can’t wait to meet her!

  10. Angie says:

    Thanks, everyone! I thought something was starting last night, but alas, here I am this morning…. still quite pregnant.

  11. Leeanna says:

    hehe it will happen, it has too, take a long walk but with someone 🙂 best of luck of having baby girl today!! luv Leeanna

  12. iris says:

    Our Graham was the only one who was late and I was having days and days of “teasers” as you called them. His was the easiest, fastest labour of them all. I do indeed believe those early, painless contractions are doing a lot of work without our knowing it. Hang in there! (As if you can do anything else.) =)

    • Angela says:

      I know that everything is working toward the final goal. My easiest labour was with Ben after two weeks of thinking labour was starting each day. This is one comfort in these impatient days! If only I could be more patient!

  13. el burro says:

    I’M feeling impatient and this has absolutely nothing to do with me. It’s unbearable!!

Leave a Reply

