I’ve never played Settlers……

….. but I like this story.  And I want to get a copy of the game.  Graeme has played, I have observed, and I think it looks like a fun game.  I like the story of how Teuber, the game’s inventor, tinkered with it for four years, testing it out on his wife and children.  When “the enthusiasm on family game night was palpable” he knew he had a hit.

Here’s another little clip from the story:

Teuber got into board games for one main reason: to entertain his wife, Claudia. The two were married in 1973, and that same year they had their first son, Guido, and moved to western Germany so Teuber could fulfill his mandatory military service. Not knowing anyone in town left Teuber with a lot of free time. “We played chess, but my wife always lost—and that’s no fun,” he says. “So I looked around for things we could both play.” This quest eventually lead Teuber to Germany’s game culture and ultimately to creating games himself.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’ve never played Settlers……

  1. Andrea says:

    And so we see, there are advantages to living in Germany 😯 ! Who would have thunk?

    I love the game and 6 years ago we translated it and sent it back to Canada with my parents in their suitcases… I think that is how it reached y’all out there…

    It is just like Birkenstocks. Everyone thought they were “wierd” until someone declaired it to be cool…

    There are a few great games out there, Settlers of Catan is certainly one of them (had I known, I could have brought you one of the “card” games spun off of it… especially great for two players).

  2. Angela says:

    You’ll just have to bring a copy when you move back! And we’ll come out to that beautiful property you found and play! 😉

  3. Andrea says:

    I still have not heard from the seller of that property… perhaps it is not ours to consider.

    But if we do move back and IF WE GET that property (or any one similar), we will scrap the cards, I’ll give you some sheep and grab me some cows and start up a real game of settlers… who gets the chickens?

  4. paisleytrusdale says:

    I get the chickens!!

  5. Robyn says:

    Settlers is a great game. We don’t own it but D’s family has been into it for awhile. They have all the different versions, extended version, etc. Fun!

  6. AccelsPossy says:

    Great, I didn’t heard about this topic up to now. Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

