Wee Fiddle, Big Fiddle

fire and graceGraeme and I recently saw Alasdair Fraser and Natalie Haas in concert.  It was fantastic!  For years I’ve wanted to learn to play the cello and this concert pushed me over the edge.  I’ve got one lined up to rent.  I’m just waiting for it to arrive at the luthier’s so I can pick it up.  Some of my favourite things from the concert were how Alasdair called the instruments “the wee fiddle and the big fiddle”, how he described the difference between a violin and a fiddle as being “a question of how late you can stay up at night”, and how he pointed out that a strange thing has happened in the West where people will go and SIT for hours while listening to DANCE music!  After many subtle (and not so subtle) encouragements throughout the concert, he finally forced the audience to their feet and taught a few basic dance steps.  He said people have the excuse, “well, I don’t know what to do”.  “Well,” he said, “you’ll never have that excuse again!” 

We’ve been listening to their CD Fire And Grace ever since the concert.  

You can also check out their websites:

www.alasdairfraser.com

www.nataliehaas.com

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wee Fiddle, Big Fiddle

  1. Stacey says:

    Hi Ang. Congrats on your upcoming pregnancy! I saw Natalie Haas perform with Marc O’Connor (Appalachian roots fiddler performer/composer) … It was a fantastic concert and I can see why you would enjoy listening to her.

Leave a Reply

