Last Weekend – Niagara Falls

DSC_0020.jpg 

Last weekend was spent in Niagara Falls at a hotel with a water park.  It was gorgeous weather the afternoon we got in so we headed straight for the falls. (The forecast wasn’t looking nice for the following days.)  It really is amazing to see – each time.  We didn’t do the Maid of the Mist, or the walk behind the falls or anything like that.  Some day.  We just walked along the gorge, stopping at different vantage points, taking pictures, watching crazy tourists stand up on the railing to have their photos taken.  We thought we might get to see some history being made, but nobody toppled over.  

DSC_0036.jpg

We got plenty misted without being on the Maid of the Mist!

DSC_0086.jpg

This is, by far, my favourite picture from the trip. I assumed we were both looking at the camera, so when I saw the picture I laughed until my guts hurt.  Maybe you won’t find it as funny.  Maybe you had to be there….. or to be his wife.  I don’t know.

DSC_0088.jpg

The big plan for the next morning? Breakfast. And then the water park, of course! Here are three boys gazing across at the water park in anxious anticipation. (It was connected by a sky walk.) I wish I was able to take pictures at the water park, but I didn’t want to have my camera over there and have to leave it unattended while we were swimming. 

DSC_0154.jpg

I was hoping to get Noah to have a little nap after that, but there was no chance I was going to get the wired little boy to nap in a little hotel room. So instead we snacked on our way over to the “largest indoor aviary” where we spent the next couple of hours. Back at our room, we did more snacking, and then headed out for a supper at relatives’.

The following day there was more of the same. Breakfast. Water park. Dozens of trips up the ladders and down slides. Noah trying to drown himself in the wave pool. It was amazing seeing how much braver Ben and Noah got in one day in the water. Noah went from slightly cautious to fearless. Ben went from excessively cautious to very bold. I really want to keep getting them in the water regularly.

Phew. What an exhausting weekend. But fun was had by all. And below is a picture of why I found it even more exhausting than usual. (For those who don’t already know.)
Photo 3801

This entry was posted in Family, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Last Weekend – Niagara Falls

  1. meagger says:

    Welllllll… look at you, momma!!! Congratulations!!! That’s great news. I was wondering if you were finished or not when I read the post about Noah turning 2. So when are you due? Are you feeling well (other than the tiredness?)

  2. el burro says:

    Congratulations Ang! I’m jealous. I’ve been kinda wondering if there would be a fifth….and now you’ve answered my question. Thanks for the reveal!

  3. el burro says:

    Oh, and I laughed at that picture of you and Graeme too…his expression was too funny…

  4. meagger says:

    El Burro,
    Your new avatar is too funny!!

  5. el burro says:

    thanks Meg….and I’m going to go out on a limb and guess that Ang is due in October and that she’s 20 weeks along. Wanna play?

  6. Andrea says:

    Oh, can I bet too? Na, I wont.

    Congrats, Angela… perhaps you are not 20 weeks along yet and you have twin girls 😛 ! That would be amazing.

    I have started a blog in English… yikes. And I am looking forward to writing an article on cobhomes, I keep thinking of your yurt confessions and have to smile because I found a family out “here” in Ireland (ok, not quite “here”, but kind of local) who built one and it looks like a hobbit house *dream* while their toddlers played out in the muck and they lived in a tent!!!

    What sticks out in my mind is her writing from the “moms” point of view: the fear that the kids wont cut it, but the realization that kids *L*O*V*E* the muck 😀 ! So encouraging…

    Wishing you pure joy which overcomes any fatigue!

  7. Rhonda says:

    congratulations! when are you due?

  8. paisleytrusdale says:

    i laughed out loud at that picture of you and Grae. You don’t need to be his wife to find it hilarious!!

  9. Angela says:

    As much as I’d like to hold out and see if there will be any more guessers, I’ll tell you this – I’m due in December. I’m not all that far along. (Just approaching 12 weeks.) Yet I look and feel gigantic! I’m hoping it’s the twin girls! 😉 (Though, Rhonda, you might have something to say about that.)

    Andrea, was this the “hobbit house” you found? http://www.simondale.net/house/index.htm

  10. el burro says:

    I’m so excited for you! Sorry about the overestimate…

  11. Angela says:

    No worries… that’s about how far along I think I look too.

  12. iris says:

    Congratulations, Angie! I hope it’s twin girls. I always wanted twins and never got them but we still have 5 kids and I’m so thankful for each one of them!!!

  13. Andrea says:

    Why yes! That is the house!!!

    My husband says that we would never be allowed to build something like that in Canada (building inspecters yada, yada, yada)…

    Perhaps you can post something about your bale houses and what is actually legally “allowed”? I mean, I do not need to build a small little burrow as the Dales did, but it is a mighty fine, magical house and the fact that they did it themselves is very much the attraction.

  14. mrsmoosepoint says:

    Looking Good. Sarah’s b-day is DEC 1 and Davids is Dec 3. It would help me out if you could have a baby on one of my kids b-days so I could remember.

  15. Leeanna says:

    yay!! great new!! hope its a girl, if not your boys are so cute too, maybe we should have sat in each others seats..lol we were thinking of going for it but I guess we will see, Willow is only 4 months lol, congrates!!

  16. Anna says:

    Congratulations Angie and all…..best of luck….hey once you move back up north Jaska will have a cousin/half sister living close by…..

Leave a Reply

