Another Year

Another year of my life has come and gone.  As the days, weeks, and months of my life seem to vanish before me, I am ever-aware of the vapour that my life is.  

For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”  James

And what a richly blessed life I live!  Yet, in the same moment that I feel incredibly rich in this world – rich with family, rich with friends, rich in the Lord Jesus – my groaning is greatest.  

Because the creature itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God. For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now. And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body.” Romans

So with those thoughts, I enter into the thirty-second year of my life desiring to live a life more eternally minded.  It is this mind that allows me to live fully, joyously, and thankfully in the present.  

This is the LORD’s doing; it is marvellous in our eyes.

This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

Psalm 118:23-25

 

The first gift of my birthday was that Noah slept in!  He slept until 9:00am!  (He’s been waking up around 6am so we’re keeping him awake all day and that seems to be working.) Graeme told me we had dinner reservations for 8pm.  Mimoza made pancakes for breakfast and she and all the boys had birthday cards for me that they had made.  We all spent a busy morning doing some chores that needed to be done, Mimo and Gabe made a cake, Zach and I built a pond net, and I ran to the store for something for an ingredient for the cake icing.   Then in the afternoon we had Bonnie and her kids here.   The kids rode bikes until the moms were ready to go outside.  We all headed to the pond where we caught and/or saw three kinds of frogs, saw two kinds of fish, and several salamanders, one of which we caught.  I can’t think of a better way to spend my birthday afternoon than with friends, my kids, and up to my thighs in a pond!  Everyone had a pizza and salad supper (I’ll post the smoked salmon asparagus pizza recipe soon), cake, and said our goodbyes. Then I got ready to go on my date with Graeme.  It was very lovely and I was very tired by the time we got home. ( I only ate a small first supper so I was ready for our later supper! )  I missed most of my family when they called, but thanks everyone – friends and family – for the phone calls/messages/facebook wall posts, and emails!  

DSC_0062.jpg

DSC_0064.jpg

DSC_0071.jpg

DSC_0081.jpg

This entry was posted in Family, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Year

  1. grandma betty says:

    I have had LOTS of birthdays but none included catching a salamander!!!!! hope you got an email about our gift—if you didn’t, please let me know and i will correct it. Glad you had a great day. I thought of calling often yesterday, then this morning when I was doing yardwork I said—” I forgot to call Ange!!!!!!!!” must have been a senior moment!!!!see ya in a few weeks–hope the dates I sent work out for you and the family—bet

  2. el burro says:

    Happy Birthday Angie!

Leave a Reply

