Pots

Although I was only able to make it to the last hour of our three hour pottery class last night, it was so worth it! I had a productive time on the wheel, seemingly over (for now) my inability to center – as was happening last week.  But the most exciting thing was to see the results of the stuff we glazed the previous week!  I have to admit, glazing has been my least favourite part of pottery so far. But after seeing the finished results I think I’ll enjoy it more next time.

DSC_0097.jpg

This was our first project – a pinch pot.

DSC_0104.jpg

We were able to try our hand at the wheel on the first night and these were my results.  

DSC_0092.jpg

DSC_0101.jpgDSC_0099.jpg

In the second class we made a “big honkin’ mug” from a slab of clay.  I decided mine would be a vase (or something) and I didn’t put a handle on it.  Upon seeing my pots this morning, each boy -at different times – picked this “vase” up and said something like, “A cup!  It needs a handle.”  Hmmm.

DSC_0094.jpgDSC_0093.jpg

We did this press mold container in, I think, our third class.  And on the same evening we made coil pots.  Below is my cowl bowl.  I really like how it turned out!

DSC_0088.jpgDSC_0089.jpg

It grew its own little leg in the glaze kiln as you can see on the right.

DSC_0107.jpgDSC_0106.jpg

As excited as I am that the other stuff (at least some of it) that I’ll be bringing home is more symmetrical, and as much as I look forward to becoming a better and better potter, I will always love the look of these, my first lopsided attempts at making things from clay! 

The boys are quite impressed.  They asked all kinds of questions about how each item was made, if it can be washed, go in the oven, etc.  They are rooting for me to get a wheel, “so you can teach us!”  I’ll just have to price out the kilns! 😛  And in the meantime…. take a lot more classes!

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pots

  1. Joanna says:

    Cool stuff Angie!! Teach me too 🙂

  2. rachel says:

    i love the pinch pot pictures. my camera broke … so i am enjoying your art stuff.

  3. Lana says:

    TO make sure that the glaze doesn’t run into a ‘glaze foot’ I have found a couple of things to help. 1) make sure you don’t have too thick of glaze 2) make sure the glaze has had a day to dry before it goes into the kiln 3) wipe the glaze near the bottom of the bot to start it out a little thinner – careful not to wipe too much off.

    Thought that might help for next time….

  4. Angela says:

    Thanks for the tips, Lana.

Leave a Reply

