Plunger Bucket Nano Cozy

DSC_0048.jpgDSC_0065.jpg

Via my new favourite website – ravelry.com – (and thanks to Paisley!) I found this pattern for a felted iPod cozy.  I’ve been browsing felting books and project ideas for a while now and this seemed reasonably small and manageable for me.  On Thursday night when I got home from pottery and should have wisely gone to bed, I taught myself to knit “in the round” with a kids knitting books.  After a few false starts and unravelings and pulling needles out of stitches instead of grabbing the empty one – I was on my way! 

Then it was time to wash whatever I could wash in hot water.  After adding it to two loads of things I would normally use hot water for, my cozy still had some felting to do.  That’s when I found this article and went out and bought a plunger specifically for felting.  I used boiling water and then added enough hot tap water that I didn’t think I’d seriously injure myself with the splashing.  The process was surprisingly fast (relatively speaking, because I think my cozy would have required at least a few more washing machine washes). It took a lot more energy (mine!) to do it this way.  My plan now is to accumulate at least a few projects for felting and “plunger bucket” them all at the same time.

DSC_0015.jpg

DSC_0014.jpgDSC_0016.jpg

I love the felted results!  Oh the possibilities!  

DSC_0017.jpg

Now Gabe’s iPod nano has a cozy little home.  It’s not exactly the button I would have picked, but I left that up to Gabe and the miscellaneous button jar.  It could have been worse.

This entry was posted in felting, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Plunger Bucket Nano Cozy

  1. paisleytrusdale says:

    nice knitting angie!! My grandma makes felted slippers … did you see any patterns for those?
    love to you (from Mexico!)
    Pais

  2. Joanna says:

    That’s sweet!! I want one for my Nano!!!!! 😀

  3. angie says:

    what’s your favourite colour, Jo?

  4. angie says:

    Oh, and Pais, I have a library book with a pattern for felted slippers. I don’t think I’ve ever seen your grandma’s.

  5. heather says:

    Haley and I just started knitting and I will definately be looking up the pattern and info on how to make the cozy!!!
    thanks for the great post…..

Leave a Reply

