Vessels

After our pottery class last week my friend and I had a little discussion about watching our teacher – a master potter – as he took blobs of clay and formed them into beautiful and useful vessels in a matter of minutes.  It was as if by magic that he pulled the clay up, in, out with ease, and into perfectly beautiful containers.  It made us think about our Master Potter – the God of all creation.  And we, as lumps of clay, wanting to be good clay, wanting to yield to the Potter’s hands, wanting to be made into beautiful vessels – vessels unto honour.

At the time I put all these thoughts on a back burner in my mind, to blog about when I had the time, but now Bonnie has beat me to it.  Check out her post

But in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and of silver, but also of wood and of earth; and some to honour, and some to dishonour.

If a man therefore purge himself from these, he shall be a vessel unto honour, sanctified, and meet for the master’s use, and prepared unto every good work.

Flee also youthful lusts: but follow righteousness, faith, charity, peace, with them that call on the Lord out of a pure heart.     2 Timothy 2:20-22

The pottery class has been a lot of fun.  It’s a refreshing treat to work on something I’ve wanted to learn to do for so long.  It is also unusual in that, unlike most other things where I am still able to mentally be somewhere else, while I am working on pottery all I can think about is pottery.  All of my focus, thought, and energy is going into the creation of whatever thing I happen to be working on. This is especially true when we are using the wheel, which happens to be my favourite part.

This entry was posted in God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vessels

  1. Joanna says:

    Oh neat!!! I didn’t know you were taking pottery classes! That’s something I’ve wanted to learn too!! Once we get a house/garage I plan on starting to learn more about wood working…another interest. I’m sure I will be good at it… remember that…errr “asymmetrical” bird feeder we built?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

