Welcoming Mimo!

Yesterday I went to pick up Mimoza by myself.  I had a rather hectic drive on the 401 with my windshield washer fluid frozen up on a slushy day! (Though I did enjoy the opportunity to listen to a lot of Musicophilia.) I pulled over a few times to clean the windshield with snow. Finally, I stopped at a gas station and and bought more washer fluid to pour over the nozzles.  It worked!  What a relief!  I made a trip to IKEA and got a few small things, but I have to say, I hate shopping more and more all the time.  (That’s another story.)  After IKEA I had a lovely lunch with friends’ before heading to the airport.  I started to get a little nervous, standing there watching strangers from all over the world walk out those double sliding doors, waiting for the stranger I was to pick up.  Then she appeared and we greeted and all the nervousness vanished.  

DSC_0107.jpg

Ben and Gabe just had a disagreement before the photo was taken and that is why Ben looks so dejected.  Obviously, it didn’t have the same impact on Gabe.   

DSC_0106.jpg

DSC_0105.jpg

DSC_0112.jpg

Mimo and Gabe made “Galette des rois” or “King Cake“, and while it was baking she made paper crowns with all the boys.  They had a lot of fun and they loved the cake.  And we all love Mimoza.  She is warm and sweet and so easy to welcome into our lives!

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Welcoming Mimo!

  1. el burro says:

    Mimo looks like she fits right in. I’m terribly impressed that she started helping as soon as she arrived. I think I would have needed a day to rest!! I noticed that Z was wearing the pants that you sewed….

  2. grandma betty says:

    what a lovely name–hope it works out ok–love to all–me

  3. Joanna says:

    Hi Angela!
    I’m excited for your new addition, and looking forward to meeting her too! Looks like the boys liked her immediately:) I got my CT results… they claim I have “no abnormalities”, hooray!!

  4. Robyn says:

    Yea for extra help! 🙂 Where is she from? And about your visit…of course we’d love to have you! There are quite a few people saying they might come next summer, so we’ll have to start taking orders 🙂
    We’ll be in touch.

  5. mrsmoosepoint says:

    Angie,
    Do you pronounce her name like the champagne coctail, mimosa or no…
    hey..why didn’t you ask me if you could visit Mpl?
    Where will you be anyway? This summer looks really slow which would be a great time to catch up, swim, and tan.
    Joshy just said”what about Fish”

  6. Angie says:

    I didn’t know I had to ask to visit MPL! 😉 I thought I could just TELL you I was going. Unfortunately, I don’t know if I can tell you that for this summer. It’s a loooong way away. We’ll be here, where we are now. I don’t like to put town names and addresses on here (which is why I edited some of your comment). Zak has been asking me a lot, though, if I think we can go this summer. If there is any possible way to change that, I will.

    Her name is like “Mee-moh-sa”, with a bit of an emphasis on the first syllable, but the first syllable is also said really quickly. I have no idea if that is like the champagne cocktail. Probably best to iChat and I can TELL you how to say it. When are you going to add me to your buddy list anyway? 🙂

  7. Pingback: All the Kings « Under the Sun

Leave a Reply

