I LOVE SKIING!!!

Ok… so we spent a lot of money today.  The big boys and I got outfitted with cross country skis.  All of my stuff is new, the boys have new skis and bindings, and used boots and poles. ( At least we now know where to go for the ski swap in the fall for deals! ) Anyway, if there is one thing I don’t mind spending the money on it is good outdoor equipment. Using old, ill-fitting equipment, and clothing that doesn’t provide the necessary warmth and comfort sets everyone up for a lousy experience. And when you love the outdoors you want to make sure your kids do too!  This has been our philosophy for camping gear, rain gear, snow gear, etc. and so far it has paid off.  

Suddenly my outlook on winter here has completely turned around.  

IMG_0656.jpg

Gabe really wanted to try them out tonight so the two of us went for a ski.  He did great in the deep snow.  Lots of falling, but  lots of laughing and getting back up.

IMG_0657.jpg

After getting back to the house with Gabe I went for a longer, faster loop myself.  What joy! What rapture!

IMG_0660.jpg

IMG_0662.jpg

I had to take a self portrait of the event.  I can’t tell you how happy this has made me.  Now I will be fighting Graeme to take the dog out at night!

This entry was posted in Family, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I LOVE SKIING!!!

  1. el burro says:

    I’ve been thinking about getting x-country skis and your post really motivated me. I liked the self portrait…I saw the ones you did in the mirror and I wondered if it was something to do with turning 30 and the baby growing out of babyhood and the rediscovering of self…maybe it was just a whim and I’m reading too much into it, but I thought they were nifty anyway.

  2. Angela says:

    The skiing self portrait was just because I like to have photos with my posts and I knew I wanted to post about my new skis.

    The bathroom ones happened because I got the camera up there to photograph Noah wearing the mask. Then while the boys bathed – and since I’d already taken a dozen or so pictures of them – and I had to be there anyway and my camera was handy…. I had a little fun with it.

    I’m not entirely sure I’m ready for the growing out of babyhood yet, so the rediscovering self might have to wait. We’ll see.

    But wow… I’m glad my photos could hint at these undertones! I liked how they turned out.

  3. Graeme says:

    Our dog looks like a robot in that first photo.

  4. Angie says:

    Haha… he does look like a robot! Or a dog off of “Pet Cemetery”.

  5. mrsmoosepoint says:

    I love skiing too. I am so happy you have your kids out there with you. I don’t know how much better a moment can be when you are outside, exercising with your family. It doesn’t get much better than that cool friend.

  6. heather says:

    yah ang! i love xc skiing too an dcan’t wait to get H and J out soon on the trails…. i went on one of the 4 mile tracks the other day…… glorious….. i so wish we could do these kinds of things together some day….. i’ll post pics of my ski ventures soon!! so glad for your great purchase.

  7. I got my son ski poles for Christmas but it has been way to cold since then (-40F) until today. Hopefully we’ll be able to get out soon now that it’s warmed up to zero.

Leave a Reply

