The Donut Tradition and Recipe

I already posted about stealing this donut tradition  (and here) on the first day of winter snow, and now Bonnie has posted the pictures of the actual event taking place this year (though not exactly on the first day of snow).  And since over on her blog there have been a couple requests for the recipe I’ve decided to post it here.  I hope Robyn doesn’t mind.  (Robyn, maybe you could tell us the source for this recipe?) 
I think that next winter I’m either going to gather a bigger group of donut eaters or half the recipe.  This makes  a HUGE amount of donuts!

 

Donuts 

Dissolve 6 Tbsp yeast in 1 1/2 C warm water.
Add:
4 1/2 C scalded milk, cooled to lukewarm. Then add:
6 eggs, beaten
1 Tbsp salt
1 1/2 C sugar
9 C flour
1 1/2 C melted shortening
Stir and add 10 1/2 C more flour. Stir and let rise. (STIR, do not knead or overwork it). Punch down and let rise again. Punch down and roll in to donuts. Let rise. Fry in hot oil. Glaze or sugar while hot.
Glaze:
2 lb icing sugar
2/3 C boiling water
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/3 tsp melted lard
1 1/3 Tbsp Knox gelatin
1/3 C cold water
Soften gelatin in cold water. Add boiling water. Stir until gelatin is dissolved. Add vanilla and melted lard. Add icing sugar and beat until smooth. Set glaze bowl in hot water while glazing donuts. Do not use double boiler or stove burner.

This entry was posted in Bloggin' Friends, Friends, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Donut Tradition and Recipe

  1. Robyn says:

    Whoever thought this tradition would get passed on so far? Wow! I think it’s neat and I certainly don’t mind. I have very fond memories of mom telling us that school was cancelled for the day, and then we’d brainstorm about who we wanted to call on the spur-of-the-moment to come and help us. This original recipe is from our RL church cookbook, and I believe it is our dear friend Twila’s. She used to get up at 3am to make thousands of these for church bake sales. And once the sale opened, they were always gone in about 2 hours.
    I was just thinking the other day about doing these donuts with the kids. It’s not too far past the first snow here…

  2. Joanna says:

    If you are recruiting donut eaters you can count me in Ang!!

  3. Andrea says:

    Oh thank you so much for the recepie!

    (My only concern is that it is a traditional “first day of snow” recepie… we are experiencing a harsh winter and snow is here to stay this year, however we usually have snow for a day… and then I prefer to have the kids out on the slopes… but I am sure we will find a suitable time to start our donut tradition!)

  4. Pingback: The End of a Year, The Start of Another « Under the Sun

  5. Chrissy says:

    OK ladies, These doughnuts are intriuging me…. I know Robyn is from Red Lake….. We recently went to a craft show here and there was a huge lineup at the doughnut ladies booth! I believe they said the mennonite ladies make them. There were none left by the time I got there…. They are so popular that people place orders for them. Now these wouldn’t possible be the same doughnuts would they? LOL Chrissy

  6. Rita N. says:

    O.K., I just can’t be quiet. I am Robyn’s mom and, like her, never would have dreamed that our long ago tradition would have gotten passed along this far! (time and space)
    I don’t know you Chrissy, but yes, I think the recipe that Ang has posted would be basically the same one that is used for our bake sales here in Red Lake.
    I’m glad you enjoyed making and eating them, Ang.
    And by the way, your little girl is so adorable and fits right into your family from the looks of things.

  7. Angie says:

    Rita, thanks for answering Chrissy’s question because I had no idea if it was the recipe or not. I can say this…. I don’t like donuts from the donut shop…. but I think I ate three of these ones on the day we made them. That’s not counting donut “holes”.

  8. Pingback: First Snow Speaks of Donuts « Under the Sun

Leave a Reply

