Using up my Stash(es)

DSC_0011.jpg

DSC_0002.jpg

 The last couple of times my big boys have been going out somewhere where I thought pants without holes would be nice, we’ve really struggled to find any!  So a couple of days ago I made these pants for Zach.  My serger is working like a dream (I figured out my problem – one thread that had slipped out of the first “hook” by the tension wheel was all it took to really mess things up).  Zach loved the new pants and asked me to make “twenty-five more pairs”.   I don’t even remember what I bought this fabric for, but I am bound and determined not to purchase any new fabric or yarn until all of my stash is used up!  (Except for the fabric shown at the bottom of this post – recently purchased for a rag quilt for Zach’s bed).  I’m also bound and determined to keep sewing, keep knitting….. keep it all fresh in my head so that it’s not such an uphill trudge to get a project going.  If I stick to my goal I’m sure I’ll be sharing a lot of the results here on my blog.

DSC_0003.jpg

DSC_0023.jpg

As for knitting, this is all I’ve been working on so far – dish clothes.  I relearned this pattern, which my grandma taught me when I was a little girl.   When my tension gets a little more consistent I’m going to start working on a custom pattern for a sweater for me, also made with part of my stash.  Meanwhile, I’d like to keep some other smaller projects on the go to distribute around the house – by my bed, in the living room, in the van – in an attempt to keep myself from getting completely obsessed with my sweater, neglecting all other duties until it is complete.  I have a propensity for this.  So I am working on tackling big projects (my “sweaters“) in a step-by-consistent-step manner and not my usual mad-race-to-the-finish-in-a-day style or the alternative it’s-just-so-big-I-can’t-even-start road block.  

DSC_0022.jpgDSC_0021.jpg

These are some squares for the rag quilt I’m making for Zach’s bed.  I want to make one for each of the boys.  This one is just going to be a practice one and then I’ll decide how I really want to do it.  What I’ve had in mind for a long time is to find organic fabric, hand dye and hand print a variety of patterns/colours, sew a quilt duvet cover, and get them wool duvets for inside.  However, sometimes I think my plans get a little too idealistic and that can hold me up as well.  So for now, I’m using Fabricland specials, no batting, and sewing up a rag quilt.  Gotta start somewhere.

This entry was posted in Family, knitting, Life, Me, Projects, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Using up my Stash(es)

  1. el burro says:

    You go girl!

  2. Elena says:

    Those pants are fabulous. Now that I have a sewing machine again I really want to get into making clothes (almost all my previous experience was in costumes and quilts.)

    I’ll be looking to you for inspiration!!!

  3. Angela says:

    Ooooh…. now I feel like I’ll be held accountable for providing inspiration! It’s good…. I like it. I’ll try not to disappoint!

Leave a Reply

