More Than Reindeer and a Red Suit

  I posted this poll well before Christmas with intention of writing something about it.  There is quite an emotionally charged debate over whether or not to tell your kids Santa is real.  Our kids know that Santa is not real. They also know not to “ruin it” for other kids.  Some would argue that we are stealing the magic and imagination of childhood from them.  I would argue that they are extremely imaginative, enthralled by anything “magical”, yet know the difference between reality and make-believe.  Would they be traumatized if they were told Santa is real and then found out we had lied?  I don’t know.  I think I would have been. (I grew up knowing Santa was not real.)  I know people who were traumatized.  I know other people who can’t even remember when they found out the truth.  I have a strong inclination to believe that one of my sons, in particular, would have been devastated if we had led him on in this manner.  The others probably would shrug and move on.  The part I don’t like about Santa is the God-attributes he must have to be Santa: all knowing, knows if you’ve been bad or good, can be everywhere at one time, etc.   Anyway, here is a short article I enjoyed reading about the whole deal.   My own convictions prevent me from telling my kids something is real that is not real.  On top of that, I’m I really terrible liar with a hyperactive conscience…… there’s just no way I could ever pull it off.

There is a great book available from Voice of the Martyrs called The Story of Saint Nicholas: More Than Reindeer and a Red Suit

The following synopsis is taken from the Voice of the Martyrs website store:

 

saint-nickBuried beneath the legends and tales of Santa Claus lies a story of a steadfast, godly man who refused to deny Christ—Nicholas of Myra, or Saint Nicholas. Throughout the centuries, many of his amazing stories have been told. However, few have heard about how he suffered for Jesus Christ.

Under the cruel Roman emperor Diocletian, Nicholas was thrown in prison for refusing to deny Jesus as God. Upon his release, he continued following in the footsteps of Christ through his unreserved giving and courage.

He later met further opposition, this time from the church. After Constantine took the throne and reportedly converted to Christianity, a false teaching began to invade the church. At a meeting of church leaders, Nicholas stood up for Christ and slapped the face of the man spreading the lies. For this, Nicholas could no longer be a leader in the church, but that didn’t stop him from going out of his way to share the love of Christ by helping children and others in need.

His story of courage and generosity in the face of persecution from the government and conflict within the church is for anyone. By any Christian definition, Nicholas was indeed a saint. Your children will be amazed to read of such bravery and tenacity of the man behind the legend of “Santa Claus.” May their faith, and yours, never be the same!
(Fully illustrated. Hardcover, 50 pages)

This entry was posted in Books, Family, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

