My Take on Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

I’ve been experimenting a little with artisan bread in five minutes a day since the last issue of Mother Earth News.  I first made the whole wheat sandwich bread, which I liked.  The boys liked it, but the verdict was unanimous: we like your “normal” wild rice bread better.  Personally, I like the crisp crust and the tangy taste that develops in the artisan bread.  (I enjoyed the same in the no knead crusty bread that I wrote about recently, which incidentally received the same review by the boys.)  Not to be put off, I attempted my own version of artisan bread – artisan wild rice bread in five minutes a day!  Since everyone likes the wild rice bread (and since I have a seemingly unlimited supply from Dad) why not give it a whirl?  Following the instructions in the article, here is my recipe:

Wild Rice Bread Starter

1 c. wild rice, uncooked 

Cook according to package directions (if you have a package, if not click here). 

6 cups warm water
1/2 cup molasses
3 tbsp. active dry yeast
2 tbsp. plus 2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup oil
1/2 tsp. ginger
5 1/2 cups white flour
5 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

Graeme and I really liked it and I will definitely make it again, but the boys said, It’s good but….. we like your “normal” wild rice bread better!

After this I made the the Master Recipe: Boule (see article) even though it was all white flour.  I liked it, though not as much as the wheaty or wild rice recipes.  Guess what the boys said.  It’s good but….. we like your “normal” wild rice bread better!  So I used up the boule, including for pizza crusts (which everyone loved) and pulled the last of my precious dough ball out on Christmas day to make some last minute garlic bread sticks.   Yesterday I made my normal wild rice bread again.  Everyone is happy.

DSC_0017.jpg

Toby checking out Mom’s “artisan” wild rice bread!

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Take on Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

  1. heather says:

    i’d give anything for an endless supply of wild rice! it’s so expensive but the only kind we use. count it a blessing my friend!

Leave a Reply

