For Every Book……

….. I find at least six more that I want to read!  

Here’s a sampling of what we’re reading these days……

  • My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett (Gabriel)
  • Rainforests by Ruth Beckett-Bowma (Zachary)
  • Alice in Wonderland  by Lewis Carroll (Graeme to the boys)
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain, Retold by Henry Brook (Me to the boys)
  • DK Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs and Prehistoric Life (Zach and I, alternately)
  • The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule
  • The Puzzle of Ancient Man by Donald E. Chittick
  • Unwrapping the Pharaohs by John Ashton and David Down
  • Homeschooling and the Voyage of Self-Discovery by David Albert
  • Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg

Add to this list various picture and chapter books on ancient peoples, the Bible, picture books for the younger boys, audio books, and a smattering of magazine and internet articles. Sometimes I wish that at the end of the day there was another day….. just for reading!

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Every Book……

  1. ACL says:

    I totally understand where you are coming from when it comes to the never-ending “must-read” list of books. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not really lamenting because I pretty much live for reading but sadly, there never seems to be enough time to do it! -smile-

    In any case, saw on your list a book about home-schooling. I have a friend who is considering it for her child and a few of my other “mother friends” were wildly outspoken against it. I felt bad as she seemed very positive and got such negative feedback…well, I’d like to think it could be beneficial for both parent and child rather than otherwise if done right. So that’s all by way of saying let me know what you find out?! Thanks and good luck with that reading list! Happy Holidays! =o)

  2. Elena says:

    Excellent book choices! I too wish there was a chunk of hours per day that we HAD to use for reading (or writing!) so that I wouldn’t feel like I had to jump up and clean something every five minutes (and also the kids couldn’t get hungry during this time! ha ha)

    I am, among other reading projects, currently reading Winnie the Pooh to my six year old. I’d forgotten how funny it is!

    Every once in a while my 12 year old and I get a moment to read another story out of Sherlock Holmes… but those moments seem to be fewer and further between all the time… 😦

Leave a Reply

