It’s in everything

Zach said today, “I wish there was no such thing as plastic”.  I’m not sure what brought it on. He was probably thinking about some poor turtle swallowing a plastic bag or something.   Or maybe it came up while discussing home design ideas. (We’re looking at lots of home building books and Z is drawing up lots of floor plans!)

I said, “Look around…. what do we have that’s made of plastic?”  

“The computer… oh, these book covers, this toy……markers, pens……”  I can’t remember all the items we named, but when you think about it, life would change dramatically without plastic!  It has become such a huge part of our everyday lives.  Bonnie has been thinking about getting rid of plastic from her kitchen. I, too, have been trying to reduce kitchen plastic over the years.  Plastic with food is really the only relationship in which plastic scares me.  (That and the bags that the turtles swallow.) 

What else do we use that is made of plastic?

Credit cards, CDs, DVDs, phones, nylon, fishing line, toothbrush bristles, polyester, contact lenses, hoses, insulation for electrical wires, plumbing pipes, fleece, lots of the parts of your car!  The list goes on.  What can you add?

This entry was posted in environment. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s in everything

  1. Elena says:

    You’re right, the list goes on forever.

    I think plastic is one of those things that I try not to think about, although I’ve heard a lot about it and know darn well that it is bad news. It is so widespread and avoiding it would be a full-time job, but I should really make a more valiant attempt than I have been.

  2. Angie says:

    I’m with you. I try not to over think plastic. One could go nuts trying to avoid it! I focus on the food/water aspect of it since that is where the studies show leaching. Aside from that I don’t think about it too much. I want to enjoy life even if I’m being poisoned!

Leave a Reply

