Spinning Bunny

These pictures are from late August at the country fair.  I borrowed a friend’s camera to take them.  (Thanks, K.)  This lady was spinning right off the angora rabbit.  

 

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spinning Bunny

  1. fionad says:

    Wow, that’s amazing! We have a British Giant rabbit, but I very much doubt he’d sit placidly like that waiting for someone to spin the masses of fur he sheds!

    What a great pic. Enjoyed reading your blog, and looking at the photos of your kids.

    Fiona, in Western Australia 🙂

  2. goodbean says:

    I SO need to learn how to do that!

  3. Angela says:

    Me too! I have a big bag of dog fur (he has a soft fuzzy undercoat) saved that my friend is going to teach me to spin when we move back! I think I might have mentioned that on this blog somewhere before.

  4. Paisley says:

    That lady has been spinning bunny for YEARS at Hymer’s. I wont mention her name, in case she doesn’t like to ‘go public’ … it takes crazy skill to get only the underneath hairs. I’ve done a fair bit of spinning, and I would never try that at this stage. If you catch the ‘attached’ outside hairs there is serious bunny trouble!
    That lady spins very exotic fibres (like collects her own muskox off of the tundra in Nunavut) and makes articles like shawls. One of them was about 1.5 metres long, and would pull through her wedding ring it was so fine (or so my Grandma tells me!).
    I love crafts!
    We’ll spin doggy fur as soon as we are in the same place, and there is a spinning wheel present!

  5. Robyn says:

    This is amazing. Ya’ll can go ahead and spin away…can’t say I’d have the patience. 🙂

  6. Elena says:

    This picture looks unreal! It must have been incredible to see her do it in person.

Leave a Reply

