Salsa, Visits, Worms…. the Usual

DSC_0023.jpg

Here is our Saturday Salsa, and I made another batch today.  Zach carried the next batch of nearly ripe tomatoes up from the basement.  I’m wondering if I should do something different with them.

I used fifteen cups of peppers for all the salsa, Mom-in-law made twelve stuffed peppers for supper tonight, we chopped and froze thirteen more cups of peppers.  That’s all $9 worth from the farmers’ market!

DSC_0027.jpg

Gabe and Great Granddad enjoying a privat chat.

DSC_0028.jpg

We visited Great Granddad’s farm and the boys had fun finding bugs, batting walnuts with sticks, the usual stuff they do.  

Thanks to Freecycle.org I found some red wrigglers.  Gabe and Ben came with me for a drive to go and dig them out.  It was nice getting out in the “country” (even though the definition changes down here), and now we’re set up for vermicomposting again.  I almost came home with a bunny, except he’s not ready to go until Friday.  Hmmm…. now to decide what to do about that…..

This entry was posted in Family, red wrigglers, vermicompost, worms. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Salsa, Visits, Worms…. the Usual

  1. megtroy says:

    Ang…I love how you use “salsa” and “worms” in the same sentence as if they’ve always belonged together.

    You are so unique. 🙂 Don’t ever change, my friend.

  2. Joanna says:

    Angie!!
    I love Noah’s expression in the pictures lately, always his huge open mouth smile. Is he ever coming out of his shell…not that he ever had much of a shell, maybe it’s just that now he can move around and be more of a rascal!!!
    Miss you guys!
    Joanna

  3. Angela says:

    Meg, before I got my worms I borrowed a book from the library called “Worms Eat my Garbage” and it has recipes for eating worms! (At least I think that was the book that had the recipes.) Anyway…. just be glad I didn’t post “Worm Salsa Recipe”. Even I draw the line somewhere!

    Jo, yes…. he is more of a rascal… every single day!

  4. Chrissy says:

    I have some great advice if you were interested in a bunny…… We love ours a lot!

Leave a Reply

