Going Suburban

I had a lovely visit with my neighbors tonight and I broke the news to them that we are selling, so now I feel like I can publicly speak of it on my blog. Yes, we are selling. We certainly never anticipated selling the house two years after buying it. We love it here. But we love Graeme too! We love him more. And we want to all live together. Especially since we’ll actually see him. (Home evenings, weekends off….. it will be so weird!)

For the last five years I’ve often felt like I’ve been “single parenting”. (Though I know I haven’t really been because I have a wonderful, loving and supportive husband, and even if he’s not present physically most of the time, I know he’s there.) So I’m really pumped about having a “normal” life together! Imagine! Consistently spending weekends together! Putting the kids to bed together! No more family gatherings via iChat. Ahhh…. bliss.

We’re moving to a suburban neighborhood – the kind of place I never dreamed I’d live. (In fact, it is entirely possible that this bush-chick has had nightmares about living in such a place.) Yet here I am, super excited about this newest adventure. Excited about the house, the yard, the street, the neighbors. We will not look at it as a loss of our beautiful country abode and lifestyle, but a chance to take full advantage of other opportunities while they avail themselves to us. It is also a chance to incorporate into our suburban living the things we have learned in the past two years. And best of all, we will be doing it as a family unit. All the while, we will know that in a short time we will be returning to “the bush”.

This entry was posted in Family, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Going Suburban

  1. el burro says:

    I’m really excited for you guys. As you said, it’s not really a move to suburbia so much as one of many in a series of adventures that you have had, and will continue to have, as a family. I love the way you’re embracing the possibilities of your newest temporary home.

  2. rhonda says:

    sounds exciting! and, as a mother who routinely has only 2-5 day stretches without her husband, i think i can at least partly understand your excitement about putting kids to bed TOGETHER! πŸ™‚ enjoy it. πŸ™‚

    can you e-mail me and tell me where you’re moving to? i wish i was in a position to buy your place. πŸ™‚

  3. grandma betty says:

    so you are actually selling—–I will phone this weekend and catch up on all the news—-will try to be of help in Sept if you need it then and we will be in London In Oct if you need help moving—-we think of you everyday—hope to see the boys next month when i fly to TO to see Neal—-love me

  4. Robyn says:

    I will email you soon! I’m so excited to hear that you are at peace with all the big decisions we were just talking about recently! I can’t wait to hear details.

  5. Iris says:

    I’m so happy for you that you will all be together! That’s the one thing about your life that I haven’t been jealous of…not having your hubby around more. But other thn that…=) I wish I knew you in person, I think we would be good friends! =) Could you email me too about where you’re going? Not that it’s really any of my business, just curious….and really hoping you still blog regularly even if you are in a different location! =)

  6. Leeanna says:

    I am so happy for you all, it will be finally nice to be all together. you deserve the happiness. Best wishes on your new adventure

  7. Robyn says:

    About your comment on my blog…
    The mill is not a hand mill, so you can turn it on and walk away, if you know your settings, etc. are correct. So here’s hoping it won’t actually add much to my work load! From what I’ve read online, I’m sold on this brand. So now I just have to try it and see. πŸ™‚

  8. Meagan says:

    I’ve been meaning to ask you about this…I’ve gotta email you I think!

  9. heather says:

    so happy for you to finally be with your hubby… so sad you won’t be there when we travel through to see mom n dad in sept. i was going to talk to you about staying a day or so… i really wanted to visit and get to know your family.. i have a feeling our boys would be great friends..
    your house is beautiful ang and your family, even more beautiful and home will always be wherever you are together.. so happy it will all now be complete for you…

  10. Anna says:

    I have not read your blog in awhile and was shocked to read that you are moving. Please let me know where you are going so I can keep in touch. I will be curious to see how Jaska adjusts. Best of luck to you and your family with the move!

Leave a Reply

