Making it Up as We Go

Nursing Noah in bed this morning, drifting in and out of conscious thought, I woke completely to a distressed whisper announcing, “The queen is dead! I checked her just now…. she’s dead!”  It only took me a split second to figure out that the queen was the last of our queen ants.  My next thought was, “That removes the urgency from finishing the formicarium”.  (Only because we don’t have enough Plaster of Paris and I wasn’t sure how I was going to get some quickly.)

And other things…..

I can’t believe he gets food out of your belly! – repeated several times by the five year old neighbor of a friend after I explained to her what Noah was doing under my shirt.  I kept repeating that it was my breast, not my belly, that he gets the food from, but who could blame her?  They practically hang down to my belly now anyway.

Granddad was the unlikeliest to win! He didn’t even know his shapes! – Gabe telling me about Granddad winning the game of Traverse with Grae, Zach, and Gabe when they were at the cabin.

And for the title of my post….. gardening.  As I’ve mentioned, we’re trying “lasagna gardening”, but we didn’t get all the autumn steps done in the fall.   Things aren’t as decomposed as they should be but we’re planting in it anyway, which I think will be alright for the transplants, but I’m not sure for the seeds.  We’re just pulling back the top layers, planting, and as they get bigger we’ll push the mulch back around them.  We’ll see!  Whatever the case is, we’re in the garden and Zach’s happy.  Except about the fact that half of our transplants froze last night! I even had them covered, but I guess I didn’t do a good enough job.  I’m glad I heard about the frost and we knew not to plant the new plants that I just picked up from the greenhouse!

This entry was posted in Family, gardening, Kids, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making it Up as We Go

  1. Donna says:

    YOUR BLOG MAKES ME LAUGH. ….DOWN TO THE BELLY, ICAN RELATE…
    JOSHUA ASKED ME WHY I HAVE ARMPIT HAIR ON MY LEGS..

    GODS DESIGN IS PERFECT..WHEN OUR BODIES ARE NO LONGER PERFECT THE LITTLE ONES WILL KEEP US DISTRACTED AND LAUGHING.

    MY NEW STAFF SAYS I LOOK GREAT FOR HAVING FOUR KIDS ( I HATE THAT)

    YOU BETTER BE A LITTLE BIT FAT WHEN YOU GET HERE OR ELSE.

    COUNTING DOWN THE DAYS

  2. Angela says:

    You are funny. Yes, I am “a little bit fat”, but I have a feeling you won’t approve. But if it’s any consolation to you, I don’t think I’m back into my “back-flipping-off-the-swing-set” form yet! Maybe next summer…… unless, of course, I’m pregnant by then. (Gasp.)

    We’re counting the days too!

Leave a Reply

