Mostly Rambling

From my perch in the skeptics’ camp, I enjoyed Is the Warming Starting to Thaw? over on AWOL Civilization, as well as the article he quotes from PajamasMedia – Global Warming: Mostly Hot Air.

Oh, and while we’re on the topic, I have some things I’ve been wondering about compact fluorescent bulbs. When the energy savings are calculated do they take into account things such as the practically bomb proof, non-recyclable plastic packaging? (Which I assume is produced in some kind of carbon emitting factory.) Or the energy costs associated with handling the toxic waste when the bulb is burnt out? (Really , I don’t know what is involved here.) As the “old fashioned” bulbs burn out in our house they are being (mostly) replaced with CFLs, but I’m hoping it’s not long before they can be replaced with Ultra-efficient Organic LEDs. I don’t like the yellow hue (aka “soft white”) of CFLs and I don’t like the fact that if one breaks we are supposed to leave the room for fifteen minutes before returning to don rubber gloves to clean it up, disposing of all materials used in the clean up job. Which reminds me, I’ve got to get that CFL out of the closet that the kids play in.   If the LEDs come out soon and my CFLs last another seven years I’ll be just a little disappointed.

This entry was posted in climate change, global warming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mostly Rambling

  1. Meagan says:

    Hmmmm, food for thought, the Global warming article. You don’t often hear this side of the debate. Oh, by the way, did you get to see the “Expelled” documentary yet?

Leave a Reply

