This and That

– the dishwasher isn’t working

– the faucet is working ….. well, better anyway. It has randomly quit running, only to start up again the next time you try. That hasn’t happened for a few days, so I’m hoping it is healed.

– at the suggestion of a couple of my blog readers, we read My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George. The boys loved it. They want to read the others. I would often catch Z with a dreamy look in his eye and when he saw me looking he would talk about wanting to live like Sam Gribley – at least to some degree, eat wild edibles, and he even sketched diagrams of what his tree house would look like, where his storage would be, etc.

– my au pair will be here in five days! We are so excited!

– I already mentioned it a couple of times, but CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? Residency is over! I have to admit, it’s a little anti-climactic with two more years of training on the horizon. We’re still flopping back and forth on what that means for our family.

– The weather is still cold and wet. The good news (which is probably related) is that we haven’t seen a single tick yet this year!

This entry was posted in Books, Family, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This and That

  1. anitz says:

    Hey, glad to hear that you liked “My Side of the Mountain”… my kids were delighted with “Rascal” by Sterling North as well, especially the few German words tossed in there, they thought that was hillarious…

    Happy reading!

  2. Joanna says:

    Don’t be too excited about the “no ticks yet” last time I was home Andrew & I went for a 4wheeler ride and a walk with the dogs at Mom & Dads. The result… 1 tick on Andrew, 2 ticks on me, and my near panic attack recalling the time a tick latched on inside my ear & Sam had to remove it with pliers (I’m still not sure why Mom let Sam stick needle nose pliers in my ear!! heehee)

  3. Daniel says:

    I’ll echo the ticks – Piers had one on his leg after a hike at Kamview today. It hadn’t been there long so came out nice and easy – and then I popped it with a match. LOL – just like when I was a kid.

    And ticks and ears??? What’s with that. Once in Manitoba I had three piled on top of eachother behind one ear… Man, we used to get them all the time, but not here. Freya had one last year. That was first I’d seen in ages.

  4. Meagan says:

    They are out in Manitoba too. I had a paranoid “tick-chcking” session today of both kids after a play outside in the grass. I HATE THESE LITTLE CREATURES!!! Sorry, God.

    P.S. Aren’t we all bubble bursters for you? 🙂

  5. anitz says:

    Here in Germany you can get mennigitis (sorry, you medical people, no idea how to spell that!) from ticks. We will soon be travelling to Ontario, are ticks “dangerous” there too? What illness do they transfer?

    Is there a web page which would inform about “high risk areas”? (In Germany there are higher risk areas, so I am assuming the same applies to Canada?)

  6. Angela says:

    The only disease I know of that you can get from ticks in Ontario is Lyme Disease. But it is carried by the black-legged or deer tick, which I have never seen. It is the wood tick (or dog tick) that we had a lot of last year. They are bigger than the deer tick, which is apparently the size of a sesame seed. You can check out this site for more info.

  7. anitz says:

    Thanks a bundle! I really appreciate the info and while I am at it, I love to read from your blog (nice to see, we have the same plastic aquariums which are often filled with diverse “findings” from the area…)

    Have you heard of Comstock’s “Handbook of Nature Study”? You would probably love it (although it is huge, not really what I would understand to be a “handbook”).

    There is (for example) the idea of a cricket cage for obeservation… we got that idea from the book.

    She wrote for the flora, fauna and animal world of the north-east US, so depending on where you are, that could be right up your alley in more senses than it is up ours, yet it is so full of great info (and so constructed that it encourages self-reflecting — coming up with your own observations and deductions — along with solid facts and also great experiments/ideas) that we are able to get loads out of it even here in Germany, where not even the ticks carry the same diseases!

  8. Angie says:

    Anitz, we have a whole long windowsill filled with plastic aquariums, jars large and small, along with loose items (mostly dead bugs) scattered in between. It’s a pretty un-lively collection right now at this time of year, but things are picking up. In one we saw the crickets lay eggs so we are saving it to see if they will hatch. In another we saw grasshoppers lay eggs. I don’t know if we kept them the right temperature or humidity, though, so I have my doubts about anything hatching.

    Thanks for the book recommendation. It sounds similar to the one we get a lot of ideas from: The Complete Amateur Naturalist by Michael Chinery. The funny thing is, the one we are using is from the UK! And you are using one from NA. Maybe we should swap! 😉 I’ll have to look for a copy of Comstock’s.

    Thanks again for the tips. If I could read German (and I wish I could) I’d follow your blog!

  9. anitz says:

    Thanks for the book idea… one more to add to my list for the summer! That is funny that yours is from the UK and mine from NA. I have the sneeking suspicsion that finding your book would be an act of providence (and perhaps also for you to find our book…).

    Hey, don’t sweat it about reading my blog, I scrapped it. Yours is way more interesting than mine was… 8) !

Leave a Reply

