Looking for Inspiration

I feel like I need a little help in this – inspiration – department lately. Noah has been sleeping terribly. I lie in bed with him in the middle of the night, pretending to sleep, hoping he will follow my example. He sits beside me saying, “Hi. HI. Hiiii? Hi. Hi. Hi. Hi. Hi. HIiii. Hi?” He tries other things, too, like planting a cold index finger in the middle of my forehead, then his whole palm, grabbing a piece of hair and gently pulling, laughing, fake laughing….. all the while trying to figure out why Mommy is as still as a lump on a bump. (Except this lump occasionally heaves exasperated sighs and whispers, “Noah, please…. lie down,” while gently pressing him to the mattress.) I just have to ask, “Why, why, Little Boy, did you have to stop sucking your thumb three months ago?”

Then today, after a night as described above (but the difference of having gone to bed extremely early!), I’ve come down with a cold. My head is stuffy and spinning. My body is achy. I’m so thankful my husband is home and can help me. So this evening after Noah conked out (and Grae is studying), I’ve just been sitting here at the computer popping back and forth from the local public library site, Amazon.ca, Google searches, craft blogs, etc. I weeded through a lot of not-so-great stuff, but I found some cool things. Here is one to start that I know the boys will love. When the rain and snow finally stops….. we’ll tackle it.

The Intersection of Art and Parenting

These neat Sculpey prints caught my eye on The Artful Parent. I started checking out some of the links on the blogroll there, too, and it looks like a lot of great, inspiring stuff. Just what I was looking for.

Check out In the Sparrow’s Nest to see how they did the same project and then painted them. I also like how they displayed them on a branch.

In the Sparrow's Nest - Nature Craft ~ Nature Prints in Clay

In the Sparrow's Nest

For more crafty inspiration, check out the some of the links on Bonnie’s Blogroll. I see lots of stuff there I’d like to do with the kids.

This entry was posted in Art, Family, Homeschool, Kids, Nature, Projects, unschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Looking for Inspiration

  1. megtroy says:

    Ohhh…I feel for you. Sleep deprivation sucks. Take care and get better soon.

  2. Robyn says:

    These are so pretty! I am going to have to check them out. I hope you’re feeling better soon – that combination is just not good. I’m glad G is there to help you…Get some sleep if you can! I hate how being tired affects all aspects of life – that’s been me recently (tired and grumpy!). Can you imagine a day when we will get to sleep all we want and we’ll wish there were kids around to wake us up? Okay, that’s debatable…

  3. Pingback: Nature Prints « Under the Sun

Leave a Reply

