Composer

DSC_0014.jpg

Zach started taking violin lessons when he was four. He hasn’t learned to read music. Here and there I have introduced it, and so did his teacher in Winnipeg. But for the most part he has shown no interest and rather than squelch his love of playing with forcing note-reading, he’s been left to learn things by watching and by ear. Yesterday I decided it was time to try again. In my own mind, I decided I would be more consistent about it this time around, but little by little. No pushing. Stopping at the first sign of fatigue or frustration. After a little explanation and having him play some notes on the violin upon seeing the written note, I gave him a piece of paper. I told him to write out some treble cleffs and notes – at random – and then write the names below them. “One line…. that’s all.” Two pages of music later, he took a break. However, he wrote his notes in a very melodic fashion. We could hear his voice humming through the house, working out the tune as he wrote. Whenever I walked past him he’d say, “I just love writing music.”

Right now he is back at it.  As soon as I get my bread kneaded we are going to play some together with the piano.  I better get started.

This entry was posted in Family, fiddle, Kids, Music, violin. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Composer

  1. Donna says:

    Angie,
    I wonder if your family would like August Rush?

    There is lots of music and a boy who is some kind of prodigy. He is searching for his parents by following the music.

    It revolves around a one night stand ,,,,this is kind of hard to explain to kids. I really loved the whole music thing, though.

    I really enjoyed it. I am not sure how Zach would process the plot though.

  2. Meagan says:

    Great to see him so interested. Have you ever got him to try improvising on violin? I’m talking two or three notes at a time is all. The blues form is great for this. You could play the 12 bar blues chords on piano, and Zach could pick a note to match and just make up rhythms on it. If he likes to compose, this is another way of trying it (though I suppose it doesn’t really help the theory part of your lessons. Maybe, he could write down the notes he plays, with your help of course.)

  3. Stacey says:

    That’s wonderful. You must be so proud of him!

Leave a Reply

