As Promised – McDonald’s Song T-Shirt

I’m not sure exactly when I won this t-shirt, but from the previous post you can see I was wearing it in 1990. I couldn’t have won it the year before because we were living in Big Trout Lake in ’89. The campaign came out in ’88 so I must have been ten when I called in to the local radio station and was caller number five (or whatever number it was) for the contest. You had to say the whole song without making a mistake in – I think it was – under twenty four seconds. I did it and later went to McDonald’s to pick up my prize. I never did like McDonald’s. I detested eating breakfast there and complained loudly when we did, but it was the only place open at 4:30am when my dad would haul us out trout fishing. The torture of choking down McDonald’s pancakes was always, in the end, worth the fun day of adventure and fishing. That aside, I liked my new prize.

Fast forward twenty years. The t-shirt took a many year hiatus and then turned up again at Mom and Dad’s a couple years back. Of course, I was happy to reclaim it. It has become standard pajama garb. After seeing this video Graeme has started calling it my “business shirt”, but more often he refers to it as a “passion killer” – like all of my “business clothes”.

mcdonalds tshirt
2008

This entry was posted in Family, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to As Promised – McDonald’s Song T-Shirt

  1. el burro says:

    That is a VERY funny song. I’ve seen F of the C a few times…I think I may even have seen an episode with that particular song. I watched Eagle vs Shark, or at least that’s what I think it’s called just because he’s in it. What a strange looking man.

  2. Robyn says:

    Hey, nice business shirt! Did you laugh at the video as much as Graeme thought you would? đŸ™‚ When he was here, I was trying to rest because I wasn’t feeling good, and I could hear him and Daryl laughing at it, and I laid in bed laughing just thinking about it.

  3. Angela says:

    I’m not sure how hard he thought I’d laugh, but I did laugh pretty hard. I actually think I laughed more about it afterward, whenever I thought of it. The guy delivers the lines so well (and looks mildly crazy), which makes it even funnier.

  4. Pingback: “Buisness” wear « A Boy and his Woobie

  5. Angela says:

    P, it’s strange that your comments have started going to my spam. I’ll have to keep an eye on that for a while and “train” it to keep your comments.

  6. Your Dad says:

    I think this one improved your rateings, almost 1500 hits since three days ago…

Leave a Reply

