Bread, Bread, Bread

DSC_0066.jpg It was a bread day. Zach made his famous grilled flat bread again. He really wanted to make it for his dad, and this time he did it on the BBQ. I think it was the best yet. We were completely out of bread of any sort, so I had to get a big batch of wild rice bread going. For some reason, I got it in my head that it would be a good day for Gabe to make pita bread too. (Which he enjoyed doing for the first step and then I finished it.) On top of that I had promised the boys we could make Drumstick Squares, so that is what Ben got to help with (in the pictures below where he is cracking eggs). DSC_0064.jpgNaturally, we didn’t get started any of it as early as I had intended, with a morning full of other projects. So by the time supper was rolling around it was a bit chaotic. Way too much going on at once for my little kitchen! But it all worked out well and we had lovely pita venison tzatziki sandwiches and grilled garlic flat bread for supper, to which everyone had contributed their part.

Alas, I am only now preheating the oven for the wild rice bread!

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bread, Bread, Bread

  1. Meagan says:

    Those pitas look great! Would you consider posting the recipe for me?

  2. grandma betty says:

    great job done by everyone!!!!did he make that flat bread recipe that I gave at christmas from Arizona yet?????? was it any good??????? just thought I would ask—we are having yet another winter storm today—sooooooo glad I’m back in the north country—as is my head. love, ma

  3. Paisley says:

    i would also love to know how to make pita bread! maybe next time you make it i’ll come out for a lesson!

  4. Angela says:

    Grandma B… no we didn’t make the fry bread you gave us yet. I keep meaning too and keep forgetting.

    Meagan and Paisley…. I’ll try to post that recipe. It’s in one of my fave cookbooks that I’ve mentioned a few times…. Extending the Table. (Got it at Ten Thousand Villages in the ‘Peg.)

  5. Robyn says:

    Hey, that bread looks great. I think I might try that on the grill this week. It’s so nice to be able to grill again!

  6. Your Dad says:

    Zak. Watch you don’t bite your tongue off flippin that bread !

  7. Iris Lyndaker says:

    Hi Angie, you don’t know me but I’m a really good friend of Rhonda’s and often visit your site from her’s or Robyn’s. We lived in RL for many years and moved to Poplar Hill 2 years ago. Anyway, I was wondering if you could post the recipe for the flat bread your son was grilling. We love breads of all shapes and kinds and would love to try it out. By the way, I love the More with Less and Extending the Table cookbooks, too. We all like making and trying new and foreign foods. (We’ve been on an “Indian and Ethiopian / African”kick lately.) I tried making the pita bread once but it didn’t look nearly as puffy and nice as yours did. What’s your secret?! I’ll have to try it again. And while I’m asking for recipies…can you share the Drumstick Sqaures, too? Thanks for letting me read your blog. It’s one of my favourites. =)

  8. Angela says:

    Iris, thank you! I’m glad you enjoy my blog. I often see your name on the comments on Rhonda’s and Robyn’s blogs. I’d be happy to hear what recipes you’ve tried out of the books and loved! It gives me even more incentive to try them…. sometimes I need excuses because I have a couple of picky eaters. That’s why I love opportunities like today, a birthday party, to try something new…. where I know it will be appreciated! Do you have a blog?

  9. Iris Lyndaker says:

    Angie I do have a blog. But I prefer to email the URL to you. Could you send me an email and then I’ll have your email address. You are more than welcome to visit my blog. =)

Leave a Reply

