Just Missed

DSC_0017.JPG

We visited the falls with friends today. See that big chunk just hanging there? After we walked away we heard a rumbling like thunder and when we saw the falls again it was gone. I wish we saw it happen! Oh well. We had a good time. The kids burned off a lot of energy.

I started my “reverse chin-up” training program again today. (Maybe details for another post?) That was a big accomplishment over and above the usual kids-are-fed-and-moderately-clean.

I’m exhausted. I’m sleep deprived. My house is complete chaos. I don’t care. I’m going to bed.

This entry was posted in Family, Kids, Life, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Missed

  1. el burro says:

    I’m racking my brain to figure out what reverse chin ups would be. Good for you on the decision to go to bed…..

  2. Angela says:

    Reverse chin-ups are what you do when you are such a pathetic weakling that you can’t do a real one to save your life. You jump up to the bar and slowly lower yourself. Do three sets of as many as possible. Push it every day you do them to beat your record. Surprisingly soon, you will be able to do one or two the real way. Do the rest in reverse. Continue doing this until you are a buff chick who can do three sets of 10 or more real chin-ups. I got to that point after Ben was born. I had big plans of keeping it up through my pregnancy….. but then I moved and stopped exercising……… and finally, I’m back in training!

  3. el burro says:

    I doubt very much that I would be able to do even one real chin up, based on my recollection of last summer’s attempts at the monkey bars. Those reverse ones sound sort of doable…

  4. Meagan says:

    Are they good for toning up your abs too? I’m looking for something like that. Beautiful picture of the waterfall by the way.

  5. Angela says:

    They work LOTS of upper body muscles, including abs (and some you might not have even known you had!). But if you really want to target abs and get your heart pumping a little faster, you can hang from the bar in between sets of “reverse chin-ups” and do some knee raises. Those will work your abs! Be sure to do them slow and steady using your abdominals. Don’t swing your legs up stressing your lower back.

Leave a Reply

