Chicken Adobo

This recipe is probably my most requested recipe.  I first ate it at a friend’s and requested the recipe.  She and her brother both said, “It’s in Extending the Table!”  It was at least the sixth recipe that I had asked either one of them for that came from that book.  That’s when I decided to buy the book.  And I did.  The next trip to Winnipeg (which was last February) I made a special run to Ten Thousand Villages and bought the book.  Actually – the set of three books: Extending the Table, More with Less, and Simply in Season.  I highly recommend all three of them.  In the meantime, I will share this recipe with you and especially, for my grandma, who I was recently lucky enough to have visit us here with Grandpa and Mom for a couple of days!

The first evening Grandma treated us to gnocchi that she had brought along.  Mmmmm.  I still haven’t attempted to make them.  I think I’m afraid it just won’t be as good as Grandma’s!

Chicken Adobo

(Philippines)

3-lb. chicken  (I like legs, thighs, and wings the best for this recipe)
1/2 cup soy sauce
2/3 cup vinegar
1-2 garlic cloves
2 bay leaves
1 teaspoon peppercorns or coarsely ground black pepper

Simmer about 50 minutes until chicken is tender.

Serve hot with rice.

Two of my boys love this.  (Guess which two.) And just about everyone else who I’ve made it for loves it.  It’s so easy.  It has become a staple recipe around here.

This entry was posted in Family, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chicken Adobo

  1. Robyn says:

    I will for sure be trying this! Looks good. Zach’s violin sounds great! And oil stain???? how quaint. 🙂

  2. tanyaregala says:

    Hi Angela!

    This looks really yummy!

    I’m compiling a list of all the different ways to cook adobo in a quest to find what a true filipino adobo is today, and I’m happy to include your adobo recipe in my article at http://kumain.com/1001-adobo-recipes/. I hope you don’t mind the link from my site to yours =)

    Keep in touch!

  3. Pingback: 1001 Adobo Recipes Recipe | Kumain.com

  4. Pingback: Under the Sun » Blog Archive » The Cooks

Leave a Reply

