Not Your Typical Bedtime Story

But then again, it seldom has been a typical bedtime story with Zach. Tonight we started reading a grade 12 environmental science textbook loaned to him by our babysitter. He is now – as I write – drawing a free hand map of the world with amazing precision. He’s excitedly talking about charts and graphs and experiments and field observations that he plans to do as we read this text. He hopes to re-borrow it after each time H needs it back. How am I supposed to keep up?

This entry was posted in Books, Homeschool, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not Your Typical Bedtime Story

  1. el burro says:

    I think you’ll just be dragged along behind. That’s okay though. It’ll be fun.

  2. Donna says:

    enroll that prodigy in some college courses already. Maybe he could head to medical school with Graeme. Don’t they learn science in that program? He could probably teach it. I can feel his excitement as you describe his maps, I would love to catch that excitement from a science textbook. The only thing I ever caught from a science textbook was more sleep.

  3. Robyn says:

    Are you getting my comments by email? Cause I’m submitting them but they’re not showing up.

  4. Angela says:

    I definitely feel like I’m being dragged sometimes! Just hope I can pay attention to each one of them as I’m drug along.

    Sometimes I look forward to when Z will be enrolled in courses that someone else is teaching. As of right now…. I’m still doing the bulk of the reading. He’ll have to get his reading skills up before he enrolls in some college courses!

  5. el burro says:

    R needed to improve his writing skills before he took up that challenge. It was the motivation he needed!

Leave a Reply

