The Forgotten Boy

DSC_0002_2.JPG

It seems I never write much about what Gabe’s up to, what he’s saying, what he’s learning.  And to be honest, that is how I feel everyday. Gabe doesn’t demand attention like everyone else.  Days can go by where I don’t feel like I’ve really done anything specifically with or for him.  It’s a terrible feeling.  But somehow it happens again and again.   I tell myself that “tomorrow” I’m going to find something that makes him tick – that inspires him.  And then, in the tomorrow, the demands of the other children and the necessary fullness of survival takes all my time and attention.  Once again I tuck him in bed, kiss him goodnight, and feel like I miss him.

Gabriel does a lot of what Zach does.  He follows along but with less of an attention span for it.  He delights in the information Zach passes on, he tries the latest art techniques, he plays the games.  But the things that I think are really Gabe are things like riding the trailer bike, archery, building things….. and those seem to be the things I can least get to.  Gabe and Ben play a lot of games together these days.

I’m still working on a remedy for this situation.

This entry was posted in Family, Homeschool, Kids, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Forgotten Boy

  1. el burro says:

    That’s a tough one.

  2. heather says:

    ang….I know how you feel. alot of my days end in the same mindset about Jackson. he is very patient and quieter than the others,but forever deep in thought and oh so loving. let me know if you find the remedy before i do.

Leave a Reply

