Yaaahoooo!

Sometimes things happen quickly.   A lot more quickly than expected.  I found a sitter. I called her place this morning and talked to her mom. Then she (we’ll call her H for now) called me from school shortly after.  I asked her when she could first come and she said, “How about today? 5:00?” She lives super close.  She plans to walk or bike over sometimes.

When she first arrived I was almost paralyzed by the possibilities before me.  It didn’t take me long to formulate a plan.  As I explained to her my plan (to do some things in the house while supper was finishing up and then clean the hot tub out) she informed me that for future, she could cook dinner if I would like.  And she could wash the dishes while the kids were playing in the house.  I liked her already.

We had a very productive afternoon and evening.  It was fantastic. I got lots done.  The kids were happy. After supper she did wash the dishes, sweep the floor, and take laundry off the line.  And then it was time to discuss payment.  She started explaining to me which days she would be free and which ones she wasn’t, and it sounded to me as if she wanted to come over three or four times a week.  I stopped her and said, “I would love to have you here that often, but I probably can’t pay you that much”.  She sort of cut me off and gave me a weekly rate that was very reasonable.   I told her I thought it wasn’t enough for three or four days a week, but she insisted, “No… if you don’t mind… and if I can do homework once in a while, I like being here.  And I like your kids.”  So there you go.  I’m so extremely happy.  And thankful.  It’s definitely an answered prayer.

Just thought I’d share.

This entry was posted in Family, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yaaahoooo!

  1. krista says:

    Wow…what a Godsend, Angie. I’m so happy to hear that.

  2. megtroy says:

    That’s awesome, what a relief!! Enjoy your “free” time, ha ha.

  3. el burro says:

    She sounds amazing. You must be so excited!

  4. Robyn says:

    YEAH!!! That’s great. Very excited for you!

  5. Rhonda says:

    that is terrific!

Leave a Reply

