Chick or Hick?

DSC_0027.JPGI am a self-described shield chick (as in Canadian Shield) or bush chick. The term may need a little defining to anyone not familiar with shield chicks. To put it simply, a shield chick is most comfortable – where else – but on the Shield (or some similar, bushy terrain). The farther from civilization, the better. The shield chick finds herself much more adept at wielding a buck knife, brush ax, or similar tool, as opposed to a stick of lipstick or a tube (do you call it a tube?) of mascara. She avoids high heels at all costs, preferring a good pair of hiking boots, Sorels, or pretty much any athletic footwear. A shield chick, stalwart in most situations, is prone to panic attacks in shopping malls. Though the individual interests of shield chicks can vary, you are likely to find them hiking, biking, canoeing, kayaking, climbing mountains, skiing, and perhaps hunting and fishing. (A high proportion of shield chicks are not averse to hunting, guns, archery, and some will not bat an eye at the thought of gutting and skinning their kill.)

Lately, I’ve been coming to a realization that is, perhaps, not all that flattering. The line between shield chick and bush hick is, at best – blurry. This recognition has been trickling in slowly, but was most pronounced when, the other day, I was duct taping my winter jacket up and donning my green rubber boots before heading out. (Did I brush my hair?) Mind you, I was only going to the garbage dump and the local grocery store, but, really….. who could ever tell that I was a bush CHICK? Oh well. I guess those “shield chick” t-shirts I was going to make will have to be altered, perhaps by crossing off the C in “chick”. (Paisley, will you still want one?) 🙂

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Chick or Hick?

  1. Robyn says:

    I think I’m lost somewhere between being a bush chick and a city girl….someday I’ll get back to my roots. 🙂 In the meanwhile, I wanted to let you know I am praying for you and I hope the next few weeks go well for you. Can’t wait to hear some baby news!!! Hang in there…His grace IS sufficient.

  2. Leeanna says:

    do you think you can be both, I do mostly go around in my pj’s most of the time and go around in sweats but lately I have had to wear dress up cloths that I really do not feel comfortable wearing. I think if I could go around in “Scrubs” all day I would. I can’t wait till you have your baby. looking forward to seeing pictures and maybe cross your fingers a visit from me, after these crazy exams are over.

  3. Rhonda says:

    Hi…I’m coming out of hiding…because if you ever make t-shirts like that, I am in line to buy one. 🙂 especially if you cross off the c! that’s great.

    (i confess, i read your blog all the time. you have cute kids, and you live in THE BUSH. 🙂 i love hearing about all your adventures and i can’t wait to hear about the new baby!)

    take care!
    Rhonda (Robyn’s sister)

  4. grandma betty says:

    I just read the blog =====maybe i should drive up today!!!!!!!! Hope you are feeling less overwhelmed now and I really can come any time if you need the help—please do NOT hesitate to ask or call for TLC. Cute dog—–way more work than you needed now but, cute just the same. Did you know this child who fell into the tank???sounds as if you may have known them—–once again—call anytime—we love you all—mom number two

  5. paisleytrusdale says:

    Hey Angie.
    Despite the thin line between hick and chick, I must admit that I still feel like a Shield Chick at heart, and would certainly wear the t shirt proudly. I think your summation of what a Bush Chick is is excellent, and I don’t think that it necessarily means that we are hicks … (although we all have our occasional duct tape-welly boots moments!) I am proud to be more comfortable in my Sorels than in heels, and in a duct taped jacket than a trendy designer outfit … Let’s pave the way for others and be Shield Chicks (not hicks) … who look great in camouflage (sp?) and don’t need to brush our hair b/c we know how to weave hair ties out of pine needles! We can make the feminine shield chick something to be proud of!

    I’m sorry it’s overwhelming right now too, by the way. I’m coming home reallllllly soon, (to STAY!!!) and then I’ll be able to be of more use than I am here. But know that I’m thinking of you and praying for you in the meantime ok?

    Take care Ang!

    Love.
    Pais

  6. Chloe says:

    I would also love one!!!

  7. Chloe says:

    Im canoeing Quetico this summer and what better atire than a sheild chick shirt!? Im glad that you mentioned that the individual interest may very, because, I will quite happily place my hiking shoes next to my “kitten” heels.

  8. Angela says:

    Chloé, I think you may have just inspired another version of the t-shirt!

  9. Joanna says:

    Hey Sis!
    I’m patiently waiting for “Bush Chick” (with the C crossed off) shirt!! I think I definitely cross that “blurry line” from chick to hick. I thought this at first when I shot a deer before heading to school one morning, but it was confirmed I was a hick when the neighbor BOY called me, because he shot a deer and his Dad wasn’t home…so he needed somebody to come teach him how to gut it. Oh boy…a daughter only a father could be proud of!! Haha! Love you Angie:)

    Joanna

  10. Pingback: Confessions of a Not-So-Pioneer Woman « Under the Sun

  11. Jacquelyn says:

    Angela, I think you should do the Tshirts “BUSHICK” which would be a real conversation starter, since it sounds like a Ukrainian term of endearment. Love it.
    JJ

  12. Pingback: Rarin’ to Go « team effort

  13. Pingback: Vacation Time « paisley

  14. Pingback: Going Suburban « Under the Sun

  15. Pingback: Ultimate Insult for a Bush Kid « Under the Sun

  16. Pingback: I miss……. « Under the Sun

  17. Pingback: Everyone and Their Dog « Under the Sun

Leave a Reply

